Yaw Announces Grants for Area School Districts

HARRISBURG – Three area school districts will be the recipients of ‘Keystones to Opportunity’ (KtO) state grants awarded through the Pennsylvania Department of Education, according to State Senator Gene Yaw (R-23).

The school districts will receive a total of more than $1.7 million through the KtO program. The school districts in Yaw’s senatorial district include:

  • Milton Area School District, Union County – $441,867
  • Towanda Area School District, Bradford County – $681,372
  • Williamsport Area School District, Lycoming County – $569,904.25

The KtO grants have been made possible as a result of Pennsylvania’s award of $38 million through the federal Striving Readers Comprehensive Literacy Program grant.

“Each of these school districts are to be commended for their efforts to improve literacy learning for students in danger of academic failure, as well as working to provide tools for school leaders and teachers so they can use valid and reliable data to guide instructional decision making in language and literacy,” according to Yaw. “I applaud their efforts to secure this funding.”

The ‘Keystones to Opportunity’ grant program is aimed at improving literacy learning outcomes for students from birth through the 12th grade.

Contact: Rita Zielonis
(717) 787-3280