Yaw Pleases With Impact Fee Disbursements


HARRISBURG – State Senator Gene Yaw (R-23) today announced that his Senatorial District, consisting of Bradford, Lycoming, Sullivan, Susquehanna and Union counties, will receive millions of dollars through the Act 13 Impact Fee.

During a Monday morning press conference at the State Capitol, Yaw joined Governor Tom Corbett and others, as the revenue disbursements were made public.

“Today is a great day for Pennsylvanians, and especially a great day for rural Pennsylvania,” Yaw said. “We are talking about tens of millions of dollars that are coming back into our local communities in the Northern Tier, directly benefitting our rural residents.”

Yaw’s Senate District will receive $42,305,036.23 in impact fee revenue this year, roughly 20 percent of the total $204 million received by the Pennsylvania Utility Commission (PUC) who administers the collection and disbursement of the fee.

A breakdown is as follows:

BradfordCounty Share: $8,375,502.10

Municipal Share: $13,403,149.80

Legacy Fund: $53,128.55


LycomingCounty Share: $3,927,395.61

Municipal Share:$5,846,156

Legacy Fund: $98,508.65

SullivanCounty Share: $361,849.93

Municipal Share: $643,288

Legacy Fund: $25,000


SusquehannaCounty Share: $3,900,918.79

Municipal Share: $5,846,776

Legacy Fund: $36,783.26

Since Union County has no drilling it does not qualify for a share of the Impact Fee revenue; however, it does qualify for $38,133.07 through the Marcellus Legacy Fund Disbursement.

In addition to the revenue disbursement above, each county, including Union, will also be eligible for funding dedicated to the statewide share. Counties and municipalities will be able to apply for grants through the environmental stewardship fund, for water and sewer projects through PennVEST and the H2O program and a variety of projects under the Commonwealth Finance Authority (CFA).

The law, which amended Title 59 (Oil and Gas) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes and was signed by Governor Corbett on February 14, 2012, provides for the imposition of an unconventional gas well fee on drillers operating in the state. Funds generated by the impact fee will go directly for local and state purposes. The law also contains a mechanism as to how the fees shall be distributed.

“It’s now up to the counties and municipalities on how best to spend the money,” Yaw added.

Contact: Rita Zielonis
(717) 787-3280

Back to Top