Senator Yaw Named Chairman of the Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee

HARRISBURG – State Senator Gene Yaw (R-23) has been appointed to serve as Chairman of the Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee for the 2013-2014 legislative session.

“It is an honor to have been selected to chair the Environmental Resources and Energy Committee,” Yaw said.  “As incoming Chairman, I look forward to continuing the great work and momentum initiated by my predecessor, Senator Mary Jo White.  We will continue working to strengthen our laws and regulations to further protect Pennsylvania’s rivers, forests and streams for future generations.  We will also work to improve our air and water quality, and promote the sustainable and safe use of our natural resources in order to reduce our dependence on foreign energy sources.  Equally, we will ensure that current laws are strictly enforced.  I look forward to working with my colleagues in this new role during the 197th General Assembly.”

The Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee focuses on bills, policies and issues dealing with energy resources and development, including regulations, conservation, strategic reserves and standards; public lands and their renewable resources; surface mining, coal, oil, and gas, and mineral leasing; air and water resources.

Senator Yaw previously served as Chairman of the Senate Urban Affairs and Housing Committee, where he facilitated the passage of several legislative proposals to eliminate vacant, abandoned and blighted properties throughout the state.  In addition, Yaw championed the State Housing Trust Fund, also known as the PA Housing Affordability and Rehabilitation Act of 2010 (PHARE) administered through the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency (PHFA).


Contact: Rita Zielonis
(717) 787-3280