Firefighter Grants Awarded in 23rd Senate District

HARRISBURG – The Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (DCNR) today announced the recipients of state firefighter grants in Bradford, Lycoming, Sullivan, Susquehanna and Union counties, according to State Senator Gene Yaw (R-23).

In total, more than $40,000 was awarded to local fire companies in the five-county region to assist with rural fire services. Local firefighting forces in rural areas or communities with fewer than 10,000 residents qualified to apply for the aid.

“The Fire Grant program has proven to be an invaluable help for fire departments throughout my Senate district and throughout Pennsylvania providing funding for the training and equipment that is necessary to ensure that our firefighters and emergency personnel are as prepared as possible to respond to emergencies and disasters,” said Yaw. “We are blessed to have a number of highly skilled and dedicated individuals in our area who volunteer their time and efforts to protect our communities during these times of emergencies.”

Grant recipients in the 23rd Senate District include:

  • Bradford: Innes Hose Co., Canton, $5,000;
  • Lycoming: Black Forest Fire Co., Lock Haven, $7,500; Clinton Township Volunteer Fire Co., Montgomery, $1,850; Duboistown Fire Department, Williamsport, $3,248; Hughesville Fire Department, Hughesville, $3,000; Muncy Area Volunteer Fire Co., Muncy, $1,575; Waterville Volunteer Fire Co., Waterville, $3,700;
  • Sullivan: Dushore Fire Co. No. 1, Dushore, $7,500;
  • Susquehanna: Springville Volunteer Fire Co., Springville, $3,986; Susquehanna Fire Department Inc., Susquehanna, $3,750;
  • Union: Union County West Fire Co., Millmont, $800;

Additional grant information can be obtained from the Bureau of Forestry’s Division of Forest Fire Protection at 717-787-2925 or visit and click on “State Forests.”

CONTACT: Rita Zielonis, 717-787-3280

Back to Top