Media Advisory – Sen. Yaw Annual Student Government Seminar Set for Thursday, May 17

HARRISBURG – Two hundred and forty students representing 16 school districts from across Bradford, Lycoming and Union counties will converge on the campus of the Pennsylvania College of Technology on Thursday, May 17 for the annual Student Government Seminar hosted by state Sen. Gene Yaw (R-23).

Students, teachers, local, state and federal government officials, lobbyists, special interests and members of the media will take part in the event in Williamsport.  The event is the largest Senate organized Student Government Seminar in Pennsylvania.

“This seminar is a great opportunity for high school students to interact with their local, state and federal officials,” Yaw said.  “The seminar allows students to develop legislation, debate important issues with key policymakers, allows them to offer their personal input and vote on “mock” bills in an open session.  The intent is for students to obtain a better understanding of the legislative process and develop professional relationships that can open the door for future internships and job opportunities,” Yaw added.

School Districts participating this year include:  Athens Area High School, Hughesville High School, Jersey Shore Area High School, Lewisburg Area High School, Loyalsock Township High School, Mifflinburg Area High School, Montgomery School District, Montoursville Area High School, Muncy High School, Northeast Bradford High School, Northern Tier Career Center, North Rome Christian High School, South Williamsport Senior High, St. John Neumann Regional Academy, Troy Area High School and Williamsport Area High School.

For a look at the Sen. Gene Yaw Student Government Seminar, click here.


State Sen. Gene Yaw’s Annual Student Government Seminar


Thursday, May 17, 2018
8:15AM – Registration
8:45AM – Welcome – Sen. Gene Yaw
PCT President Davie Gilmour

9AM – Dynamics of the Legislative Process
Drew Crompton, Counsel/Chief of Staff to Senate President Pro Tempore Joseph Scarnati

10AM – Debate/Discussion – Committee Sessions

12:20PM – General Voting Session


Pennsylvania College of Technology, One College Avenue, Williamsport, Pennsylvania 17701. (For a campus map, click here.)

Media coverage is welcome.


Rita Zielonis, Chief of Staff

Back to Top