Everett, Wheeland, Yaw Applaud Federal Flood Relief for Lycoming and Union

HARRISBURG – Lycoming and Union County homeowners, renters and businesses impacted by recent storms in the area may be eligible for low-interest disaster loans through the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Disaster Loan Program, according to the counties’ legislative delegation.

Reps. Garth Everett (R-Lycoming/Union) and Jeff Wheeland (R-Lycoming) expressed their satisfaction with the new program.

“We look forward to seeing much-needed relief come to these areas that were heavily impacted by recent storms. The SBA is doing a tremendous service to families still struggling to recover from the flooding and we are grateful for their assistance.”

Sen. Gene Yaw concurred with Reps. Everett and Wheeland.

“Local businesses and residents impacted by the recent flooding should look at all their options,” Sen. Yaw said.  “This program can be beneficial for those still recovering from the flooding we experienced earlier this year.  It would definitely be another option to explore.”

Low-interest loans of up to $200,000 are available to homeowners to repair or replace damaged or destroyed real estate. SBA regulations permit loans up to $40,000 to repair or replace personal property. Businesses and nonprofits can borrow up to $2 million to restore damaged or destroyed buildings, inventory, equipment and assets. Loan amounts and terms are set by the SBA and are based on each applicant’s financial qualifications.

The SBA will establish a Disaster Loan Outreach Centers (DLOC) to assist anyone who wishes to apply for a loan. Applicants from any eligible county may report to any DLOC location in order to get help. The DLOCs will be opening at the following locations on Dec. 13 at 11 a.m.:  

Bradford County:
Fairfield Inn By Marriott
1248 Gold Mile Road
Towanda, PA 18848

Columbia County:
Benton Borough Building
590 Everett Street
Benton, PA 17814

Delaware County:
Delaware County Emergency Services Building
360 North Middletown Road
Media, PA 19063

Northumberland County:
Warrior Run Area Fire Department Headquarters
1125 Main Street
Watsontown, PA 17777

Schuylkill County:
Port Carbon Borough Municipal Building
301 First Street P.O. Box 71
Port Carbon, PA 17965

Susquehanna County:
Susquehanna County Department of Public Safety County Office Building
81 Public Avenue
Montrose, PA 18801

SBA customer service representatives will be on hand at the disaster loan outreach center to issue loan applications, answer questions about the disaster loan program, explain the application process and help individuals to complete their applications.

Individuals and businesses unable to visit the centers in person may obtain information and loan applications by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 (1-800-877-8339 for the hearing impaired), or by e-mailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov.

Loan applications can also be downloaded at www.sba.gov/disaster. Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via the SBA’s secure website at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela. Completed applications should be returned to the local DLOC or mailed to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155.

The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is Feb. 11, 2019.  The deadline to return economic injury disaster loan applications is Sept. 11, 2019.


Nick Troutman
Director, Senate Environmental Resource & Energy Committee; Communications
(717) 787-3280

Back to Top