***Media Advisory*** Sen. Yaw Annual Student Government Seminar Set for Thursday, May 23

HARRISBURG – Two hundred and ten students representing 13 school districts from across Bradford, Lycoming and Union counties will meet on the campus of the Pennsylvania College of Technology (PCT) on Thursday, May 23 for the annual Student Government Seminar hosted by state Sen. Gene Yaw (R-23).

Students, teachers, local, state and federal government officials, lobbyists, special interests and members of the media will take part in the event in Williamsport.  The event is the largest Senate organized Student Government Seminar in Pennsylvania.

“This seminar is a great opportunity for high school students to interact with their local, state and federal officials,” Yaw said.  “The seminar allows students to develop legislation, debate important issues with key policymakers, allows them to offer their personal input and vote on “mock” bills in an open session.  The intent is for students to obtain a better understanding of the legislative process and develop professional relationships that can open the door for future internships and job opportunities,” Yaw added.

School Districts participating this year include:  Athens Area High School, Canton Area High School, Jersey Shore Area High School, Lewisburg Area High School, Loyalsock Township High School, Mifflinburg Area High School, Montoursville Area High School, North Rome Christian, Northeast Bradford High School, South Williamsport Senior High, St. John Neumann Regional Academy, Troy Area High School and Williamsport Area High School.

For a look at the Sen. Gene Yaw Student Government Seminar, click here.

What:    State Sen. Gene Yaw’s Annual Student Government Seminar

When:    Thursday, May 23, 201p

8:15 a.m. – Registration

8:45 a.m.
– Welcome
Sen. Gene Yaw
PCT President Davie Gilmour

9:00 a.m. – Dynamics of the Legislative Process
Drew Crompton, Counsel/Chief of Staff to Senate President Pro Tempore Joseph Scarnati

10:00 a.m. – Debate/Discussion – Committee Sessions

12:20 p.m. – General Voting Session

Where:    Pennsylvania College of Technology, One College Avenue, Williamsport, Pennsylvania 17701. (For a campus map, click here)

Media coverage is welcome.



Rita Zielonis, Chief of Staff