Yaw, Pennsylvania Delegation Honor Chesapeake Bay Commission on 40th Anniversary

HARRISBURG – State Sen. Gene Yaw (R-23), Chairman of the tri-state Chesapeake Bay Commission (CBC), along with his fellow members of the Commission’s Pennsylvania Delegation, recognized the CBC Friday on its 40th Anniversary.

Joining Senator Yaw during the virtual meeting were state Sen. Scott Martin (R-13), state Rep. Garth Everett (R-84), state Rep. Keith Gillespie (R-47), state Rep. P. Michael Sturla (D-96), DEP Secretary Patrick McDonnell and citizen member Honorable G. Warren Elliott.  As Delegation Vice-Chair, Rep. Sturla offered congratulations on behalf of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives, and CBC Vice-Chairman Honorable David L. Bulova of the Virginia House of Delegates and the Honorable Dana M. Stein of the Maryland House of Delegates made presentations on behalf of their respective legislative bodies.

Established in 1980, the Commission is a policy leader in the restoration of the Chesapeake Bay, whose mission is to identify critical environmental needs, evaluate public concerns, and ensure state and federal actions to sustain the living resources of the Chesapeake Bay.  The Commission also advises the General Assemblies of Pennsylvania, Maryland and Virginia on matters of Bay-wide concern.

“Over the years, the Commission has championed important legislative and policy initiatives at the state and federal level, including bi-state blue crab management, nutrient management, agricultural conservation funding, and open space preservation, among other issues,” Sen. Yaw said. “Today, we celebrate and honor the many contributions of the Commission and look forward to another 40 years of environmental achievements.

Also offering remarks during the meeting was Virginia Governor Ralph Northam, who is serving his first term as chair of the Chesapeake Executive Council, which consists of the governors of the six watershed states, the mayor of the District of Columbia, the chair of the Chesapeake Bay Commission, and the administrator of the EPA.

A primary goal of the Commission is to continue focusing attention on the Susquehanna River watershed, the single-largest tributary to the Chesapeake Bay, which supplies over 50 percent of the freshwater flowing into the Bay.To learn more about the Commission, click here.  A webinar on the Commission’s four decades of policy leadership will be held Tuesday, November 10 from 11:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.  For more information and to register, click here.

For more state-related news and information, visit Senator Yaw’s website at www.SenatorGeneYaw.com or on Facebook and Twitter @SenatorGeneYaw.


CONTACT:    Marel King, Pennsylvania Director
Chesapeake Bay Commission

Back to Top