Senator Yaw Announces Recycling Grants Across 23rd Senate District

Over $26.8 million in grants awarded to 127 municipalities in PA

HARRISBURG – State Sen. Gene Yaw (R-23) today announced six grants totaling over $1.16 million for area recycling collection, leaf waste and education programs across Lycoming, Susquehanna and Union counties.

“All of these grants provide an incentive to recycle in Pennsylvania,” Sen. Yaw said.  “Act 101, which was enacted in 1988, has been extremely successful in promoting recycling across our state.”

The grants to municipalities for recycling programs were awarded under section 902 of the Municipal Waste Planning, Recycling and Waste Reduction Act.  Grants awards include:

Lycoming County:

  • Countywide – Drop-off Recycling Program and Recycling Center ($349,485)
  • Muncy Borough – Leaf Waste Collection and Processing Programs ($88,200)
  • Old Lycoming Township – Leaf Waste Collection and Recycling Center ($196,007)

Susquehanna County:

  • Countywide – Recycling Center and School Education Program ($229,803)

Union County:

  • Countywide – Drop-off Recycling Program, Leaf Waste Processing and Education Programs  ($101,708)
  • Lewisburg Borough – Leaf Waste Collection and Recycling Education Program ($197,035)

Municipalities and counties are eligible for up to 90% funding of approved recycling program costs. Municipalities considered financially distressed by the Department of Community and Economic Development under the Municipalities Financial Recovery Act, also known as the Financially Distressed Municipalities Act, are eligible for 100% of approved costs.  All grant awards are predicated on the receipt of recycling fees required by sections 701 and 702 of the Act (53 P.S. §§ 4000.701 and 4000.702) and the availability of moneys in the Recycling Fund.

For more information on Act 101, Section 902 Recycling Grant Guidelines, click here.

For more state-related news and information, visit Senator Yaw’s website at or on Facebook and Twitter @SenatorGeneYaw.


CONTACT:    Rita Zielonis, Chief of Staff       (717) 787-3280

Back to Top