Public Hearing on Flooding and Emergency Response

Joint Public Hearing

Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee
Senate Veterans Affairs & Emergency Preparedness Committee

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 at 9 a.m.

East Wing, Hearing Room 8E-B


9:00 AM       Opening Comments

9:05 AM
Statewide Impacts
Department of Environmental Protection
Honorable Patrick McDonnell, Secretary

Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency
Rick Flinn, Jr., Director                                  

Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission
Andy Shiels, Director of Bureau of Fisheries                              

9:45 AM
Countywide Impacts
Allegheny County Department of Emergency Services
Matt Brown, Chief

Dauphin County Department of Public Safety
Stephen Libhart, Director & Emergency Management Coordinator

Bradford County Conservation District
Mike Lovegreen, Conservation District Operations Specialist             

10:25 AM
Local Impacts
Borough of West Pittston (Luzerne)
Tom Blaskiewicz, Mayor

City of Meadville (Crawford)
Andy Walker, City Manager

Borough of Etna (Allegheny)
Mary Ellen Ramage, Manager

11:00 AM       Adjourn

The Challenges of Firefighting Today

 Joint Public Hearing with Majority Policy Committee

Firefighter Issues

Friday, October 25, 2013
10 a.m.
Adams County Emergency Services Facility
230 Greenamyer Lane

10:00 to 10:10 a.m.
Welcoming Remarks

Sen. Lisa Baker, Chair, Senate Veterans Affairs and Emergency Preparedness Committee

Sen. Ted Erickson, Chairman, Senate Majority Policy Committee

Sen. Rich Alloway, Senator, 33rd Senatorial District

Adams County Commissioner Randy L. Phiel

10:10 a.m. to 10:40 a.m.

John Senft, Chairman, Board of Governors, Fire Chiefs and Firefighters Association of York County,
Retired Fire Chief for the City of York
Attachment 1

Robert Gordon, Adams County Council of Governments

Ben Thomas, Cumberland Twp. Manager

Ken Kime, President, Adams County Volunteer Emergency Services Association

John Eline, Director, Adams County Emergency Management Agency

10:40 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

Jane Hyde, Vice-President, Wellspan Gettysburg

D. Robert Brady, Local Government Policy Specialist, Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development
Attachment 1
Attachment 2

11:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
Firefighters Panel

Don Konkle, Pennsylvania Fire and Emergency Services Institute

William Jenaway, Chief, King of Prussia Fire Department

Jerry Poland, Chief, Bonneauville Fire Department and Board Member, PFESI
Act 7 of 2008
Act 8 of 2008
Act 9 of 2008

Jay Delaney, Chief, Wilkes-Barre Fire Department and PA Career Fire Chiefs Assn.

11:30 a.m. to 12 noon

State Fire Commissioner Ed Mann