Yaw Applauds Senate Confirmation of Lewisburg Man to PFBC Post

HARRISBURG – The state Senate yesterday unanimously confirmed the nomination of Eric C. Hussar of Lewisburg, Union County, as Commissioner of the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission’s (PFBC) 5th District, according to Senator Gene Yaw (R-23).  The PFBC 5th District encompasses Bradford, Columbia, Lycoming, Montour, Northumberland, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, and Union counties. 

In June, Yaw encouraged Governor Tom Corbett to nominate Hussar to serve on the Commission.

“With the needs for resource protection and management increasing, I have no doubt that Eric’s leadership, integrity and experience will certainly prove to be a valuable asset to the Commission,” Yaw said.  “For this reason, I unconditionally support his nomination to serve as 5th District Commissioner of the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission.”

An avid fly fisherman who fishes 80 to 100 days a year, Hussar has volunteered much of his time with ‘Project Healing Waters Fly Fishing,’ a non-profit organization dedicated to the physical and emotional rehabilitation of disabled active military service personnel and disabled veterans.  The Project provides basic fly fishing, fly casting, fly tying and rod building classes, along with beginner and expert clinics for fisherman who are adapting their skills.

Hussar is owner and President of Mid-Penn Energy, a local heating and cooling company serving six regional counties, and serves as the current Vice Chairman for the Central PA Workforce Development Corporation, Board Member for the Union County Industrial Corporation, as well as a Board Member for the Central PA Chamber of Commerce.

He will be replacing William R. Worobec of Williamsport on the PFBC Board.

The Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission is an independent administrative commission. It consists of ten citizens of the Commonwealth who are appointed by the Governor by and with the advice and consent of a majority of the Pennsylvania Senate. Commissioners serve for terms of eight years and continue in office until their successors are appointed.


Rita Zielonis