Senator Yaw Announces Guidelines for $50 Million in Fire & EMS Grants

HARRISBURG – State Sen. Gene Yaw (R-23) today announced that the guidelines for the COVID-19 Crisis Fire Company and EMS Grant Program have been released and that fire companies and EMS agencies may now register to receive funds.

In April, Senate Bill 1122 was introduced to provide a one-time grant to fire companies and EMS agencies to help maintain operations during the COVID-19 pandemic.  On May 29th, the legislation was signed into law by the Governor.

“I’m happy to see funding dedicated to our first responders who have been on the front lines since the COVID-19 epidemic began,” Senator Yaw said.  “The pandemic has forced many departments to pay for more protective equipment and other supplies.  These costs, coupled with the inability to raise funds due to the stay-at-home orders, puts added financial strain on these organizations.”

A total of $50 million will be distributed by the Office of the State Fire Commissioner (OSFC) as follows:

  • $44 million to eligible fire and rescue companies; and
  • $6 million to eligible EMS companies.

The funding will be calculated for individual awards in the following manner:

  • Fire/Rescue/EMS Companies that received a grant award from the 2019-2020 Fire Company & EMS Grant Program (FCEMSGP) and register for the COVID-19 Crisis grant program will receive an initial award equal to the amount they received from the 2019-2020 FCEMSGP.
  • The surplus funding in the program will be distributed to each eligible company that meets the funding criteria and that submits a completed registration, including those that did not receive a 2019-2020 FCEMSGP grant award.

Eligible companies seeking a grant under the program are required to submit a completed online grant registration to OSFC by following the COVID-19 Fire, Rescue and EMS Grant Instructions. The online registration portal opened on Monday, July 6, 2020, and will remain open until Friday, August 7, 2020, at 4:00 p.m.

Senator Yaw is encouraging all fire companies and EMS agencies to register for the special grants.

For more state-related news and information, visit Senator Yaw’s website at, or on Facebook and Twitter @SenatorGeneYaw.


Rita Zielonis, Chief of Staff

(717) 787-3280

Back to Top