Sen. Yaw: Union County Farm Added to Farmland Preservation Program

HARRISBURG – A Union County farm was one of 25 farms in 17 counties added to the Pennsylvania Farmland Preservation Program today, according to state Sen. Gene Yaw (R-23).

The 124-acre crop farm, owned by Elvin E. and Molly B. Stoltzfus, is located in Kelly Township and will be added to the list of 5,781 Pennsylvania farms permanently preserved for agricultural production.  During today’s meeting, the Pennsylvania Agricultural Land Preservation Board announced that it added a total of 2,224 additional acres to the more than half a million acres permanently preserved across the state.

“Each preserved farm represents a commitment to Pennsylvania agriculture,” Senator Yaw said.  “This commitment ensures that productive farmland, like the Stoltzfus farm, will be safeguarded for future generations.”

The Pennsylvania Agricultural Conservation Easement Purchase Program, as it is formally known, identifies properties and slows the loss of prime farmland to non-agricultural uses. It enables state, county and local governments to purchase conservation easements, or development rights, from owners of quality farmland.

The 25 farms preserved today are in Adams, Berks, Blair, Bucks, Butler, Cambria, Chester, Dauphin, Cumberland, Fayette, Lancaster, Lehigh, Northampton, Perry, Potter, Union and York counties.

To learn more about Pennsylvania’s Farmland Preservation Program, and investments in a secure future for Pennsylvania agriculture, visit

For more state-related news and information, visit Senator Yaw’s website at or on Facebook and Twitter @SenatorGeneYaw.


CONTACT:    Rita Zielonis, Chief of Staff
(717) 787-3280

Back to Top