Senator Yaw to Lead Environmental Resources & Energy Committee in 2021-2022 Session

HARRISBURG – State Sen. Gene Yaw (R-23) today was reappointed to serve as Chairman of the Pennsylvania Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee for the 2021-2022 Legislative Session.  Yaw has served as chairman of the committee since 2013 and was reappointed to the post this session by Senate President Pro Tempore Jake Corman (R-34).

The Committee has jurisdiction over the state’s energy resources and development, including regulations and conservation efforts; public lands and their renewable resources; surface mining, coal, oil, and gas, and mineral leasing; air and water resources.

“I thank Sen. Corman for his trust to lead this important committee in the new session,” said Sen. Yaw.  “I look forward to working with my fellow senators to advance bipartisan solutions to strengthen our laws and regulations that will further protect Pennsylvania’s air, rivers, streams and land for future generations.”

In addition to his role as committee chairman, Senator Yaw also continues to serve as one of 21 members of the tri-state Chesapeake Bay Commission, and as Chairman of the Board for the Center for Rural Pennsylvania, a bipartisan, bicameral legislative research agency of the General Assembly.  He also serves on a number of boards and commissions in his role as Senate Environmental Committee chair.

During the 2019-2020 legislative session, the Environmental Resources and Energy Committee held 10 public hearings and briefings; two confirmation hearings; heard from 77 witnesses; reviewed 75 pieces of legislation and advanced 26 bills (eight House bills and 18 Senate bills).

“While this past year was extremely difficult in many ways, the Senate Environmental Committee was quite productive,” Sen. Yaw added.  “I’d like to thank my fellow committee members and their staffs for their hard work during this past session, and I look forward to a productive new year.

For more state-related news and information, visit Senator Yaw’s website at or on Facebook and Twitter @SenatorGeneYaw.



Rita Zielonis, Chief of Staff
(717) 787-3280

Back to Top