Senator Yaw Helps Kick-Off 28th Little League International Congress in Williamsport

WILLIAMPORT – The 28th Little League International Congress kicked-off this weekend in the birthplace of Little League, according to Sen. Gene Yaw (R-23) who participated in the opening convocation. 

On behalf of the Pennsylvania General Assembly, Sen. Yaw presented Senate and House congratulatory citations recognizing Little League International on the 75th anniversary of the Little League Baseball World Series (LLBWS).

Founded in 1939 by Carl E. Stotz, Little League International held the first LLBWS for Pennsylvania and New Jersey in 1947 at Original Field at Memorial Park in Williamsport. By 1950, the series grew to include teams from all 48 continental states, Panama, Canada and Hawaii, and the league is currently played in more than 80 countries on six continents, as well as all 50 states. In 1959, LLBWS moved to its current location at the Howard J. Lamade Stadium, and the Volunteer Stadium was opened in 2001 to accommodate its expansion from eight teams to 16. Beginning in 2022, it will expand again to include twenty teams.

For more on the Opening Convocation ceremony, click here.

Back to Top