Yaw, Owlett Announce PENNVEST Funding for Westfield Borough

HARRISBURG –State Sen. Gene Yaw (R-23) and State Rep. Clint Owlett (R-68) today announced a $957,846 state investment allocated to Westfield Borough, Tioga County through the Pennsylvania Infrastructure Investment Authority (PENNVEST) for the replacement of its Church Street sewer pipe.

Funding awarded today will be used to replace approximately 2,300 feet of failing clay pipe with new 80-inch high-density polyethylene pipe through trenchless pipe bursting.  This project will improve the reliability and performance of the sanitary sewer system, prevent future sinkholes due to current structural deficiencies, and reduce operational and maintenance costs at the wastewater treatment plant.

“As we look at the aging infrastructure of many of our local communities, it has never been more important to support their efforts to improve water quality through upgraded systems,” Sen. Yaw said. “Ensuring our communities are equipped to properly handle wastewater is good for our citizens and good for our environment and I was pleased to support this important investment.”  

“This is a significant investment in public health for the people of Westfield,” Rep. Owlett said. “These necessary improvements will ensure the efficiency and reliability of the community’s wastewater treatment system for decades to come. I was happy to join Sen. Yaw in support of this funding.”

Yaw and Owlett noted the existing system serves over 400 households in the Borough and funding for these upgrades will help curb future rate increases for consumers.  

In addition to the grant, PENNVEST also approved a $401,654 loan for the same project.  

PENNVEST was established by Act 16 of 1988 and is an independent agency of the Commonwealth providing financial assistance to fund the construction of drinking water, sewer, and stormwater projects in communities throughout Pennsylvania. 

For more state-related news and information, constituents can visit Senator Yaw’s website at www.SenatorGeneYaw.com and Representative Owlett’s website at www.RepOwlett.com.  

Elizabeth Weitzel (Sen. Yaw) 

Patricia Hippler (Rep. Owlett) 

Back to Top